Thursday, February 23, 2017
How can we battle hatred? and People shouldn t freeze
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Just a few weeks ago I started a column with the same sentence I m about to write: This is not the first time I have written about this, nor do I feel it will be the last.
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Hollywood has always been known for its magic but its moviemakers have a trick even U.S. President Donald Trump must envy they can make whole countries disappear.
Thursday, February 2, 2017
This is not the first time I have written about this, nor do I feel it will be the last. I know that because no matter how many times local politicians suggest getting bigger and it s voted down it always reappears in a slightly different form.
Friday, January 27, 2017
The dawn of a new, very scary era is upon us. Anyone who consumed news in the 48-hour period following U.S. President Donald Trump s inauguration will know exactly what I m talking about.
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
As Canadians enter 2017, the 150th anniversary of Confederation, I m hoping that we may be able to rediscover the fascination with our country and its stories that helped make us proud to be Canadians when we celebrated the Centennial 50 years ago.
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
This week, we here at The Citizen begin a new series of stories in the nine-month lead-up to the 2017 International Plowing Match (IPM) and I think it s going to be a good one.
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
A year to celebrate, Sinking to the lowest target and Let s take the next step
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Blyth s the centre of attention, Mr. PM don t sell your soul and So much for peace on earth.
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
During a recent meeting of the Blyth Business Improvement Area (BIA) it was revealed that the typical measurement used to identify the need for a stop sign or traffic light at a location is the number of collisions that occur there.
Friday, December 9, 2016
Recently my wife Ashleigh and I got into a bit of a debate about the role social media would play with in the life of our just-over-three-month old daughter, Mary Jane.
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Last week I was reminded just how much people change or, rather, just how much people can stay the same, depending on who s asking and who we re asking about.
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Growing up in Goderich you can get a feel for what growing up in Toronto is like people really do think it s the centre of the universe.
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday afternoon I ended up at a fire in Auburn where someone was watching their home, along with their possessions, memories and keepsakes, burn to the ground.
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Remembering their sacrifice, They also serve democracy, Interesting idea, but
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Last week I received an oddity at the local post office: two packages with the same tracking number. Why was it an oddity? Well it turns out that never happens.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
In movies, they always say that the sequel is never as good as the original. In terms of my columns, I ve written sequels before and, to be honest, I ve never gone back to see if the same is true. Having said that, I wasn t done in last week s column.
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
It s probably viewed as pretty easy for me to support the demolition of the former Blyth Public School. Although I attended many events there over my years with The Citizen, I never went there as a student or had children serve as students there.
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Change, but only if it s better and Talking, but making no sense
Thursday, October 6, 2016
We all tell stories every day. Whether it s something funny that happened over the weekend, or something you heard and simply have to pass on, the world is comprised of storytellers.
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
While a date night is likely not going to happen around my home for a little while with a five-week old baby in the mix, I can t help but look forward to a night with my wife Ashleigh.
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Let s lead on rural issues and Keep your promises
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
In this issue of The Citizen there is coverage of three events that wouldn t have been possible without the dogged determination of small groups or individuals.
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Last week I found myself on the business end of a hand motion that has infuriated me for decades; the finger beckon.
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Just like a lot of the information available these days the quote that comes to mind is that many are drowning in information but thirsty for knowledge it seems the value of a truly great photograph is being watered down...
1 2 3